Optegra Medical Director

Mr Robert Morris graduated with distinction from St Bartholomew’s Hospital, London. He trained at Oxford Eye Hospital, Moorfields Eye Hospital, Great Ormond Street and the University of Iowa, one of the top five training programmes in the United States.

In 1991, Mr Morris was appointed NHS Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon at Southampton General Hospital, and in 1995 at the Royal Hampshire County Hospital in Winchester.

He has worked in laser vision correction since 1994, performed over 15,000 refractive, Clarivu Permanent Lens Replacement and cataract procedures. He is a renowned expert in LASIK, LASEK and Wavefront treatments. In addition, he is recognised nationally for his training and expertise in complex squint surgery.

Mr Morris is passionately committed to passing on his skills by training other surgeons and is actively involved in education of young doctors. He has been Chairman of the Wessex Deanery Education committee, Regional Adviser for Wessex to the Royal College of Ophthalmologists, an examiner for the Royal College of Ophthalmologists and a Member of their Microsurgery Training Faculty.

As Medical Director of Optegra, he is committed to maintaining industry leading clinical outcomes across the hospital group. In this role, he is responsible for the assessment of new techniques and technology at Optegra.

Mr Morris has published over 35 papers in peer-reviewed journals, and lectures and presents papers on cataract, refractive and strabismus surgery all over the world.

Medical Advisory Committee (MAC)

Our MAC at each hospital ensures compliance with best clinical practice and all regulatory and Governance requirements. At the head of this Corporate MAC is Optegra’s Medical Director, Mr Robert Morris.

Medical Advisory Committee Chairs:

  • Srinivasan (Mani) Subramaniam representing Optegra Birmingham Eye Hospital
  • Paul Rosen representing Optegra Eye Hospital London
  • Niall Patton representing Optegra Manchester Eye Hospital
  • Anthony Evans representing Optegra Solent Eye Hospital
  • Anne Gilvarry representing Optegra Surrey Eye Hospital
  • Shafiq Reman representing Optegra Yorkshire Eye Hospital